Department of Telecommunication & Postal Service

The Telecommunication and Postal Services Department was established to oversee the implementation of Government policies aimed at advancing ICT development in the country as well as modernizing and integrating the telecoms and postal industry into the world’s information society. Its mission is to promote policies, programmes and strategies for sustainable, efficient and effective broadband and postal services delivery

Key Function

  • Promote the development of Universal Broadband Access/Services.
  • Promote the development of Satellite Broadband Access/Services.
  • Promote the development of access channels for the implementation of Digital Financial Inclusion Strategies.
  • Promote postal services development.
  • Liaise with the following Agencies of the Ministry including NCC, NIGCOMSAT, NIPOST and USPF to facilitate telecoms development and regulatory matters in line with universal access provision.
  • Liaise with key stakeholders to facilitate National Broadband Infrastructure and Postal development. 
  • Liaise with International Telecommunication Union – Development (ITU-D) on matters relating to Telecommunication Sector development
  • Liaise with international bodies, regional and sub-regional organizations on matters relating to telecommunication and postal sector development including the African Union Specialized Technical Committee on Communication, ICT and Post (AU-STC (CICT)), Commonwealth Telecommunication organization (CTO), Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Pan African Postal Union (PAPU), Universal Postal Union (UPU), West African Postal Conference (WAPCO), Commonwealth Postal Conference (CPC).
  • Implementation of integrated National Rural Telecommunication Programmes.
  • Facilitate the implementation of the Nigerian National Broadband Plan 2013 – 2018.
  • Facilitate the implementation of projects under the Multilateral Cooperation.

Leave Us a Message

Kindly fill out the below and we shall keep in touch with you.